The Music of Golden Sun

I wanted to touch on this because, aside from the amazing environments, great story, and lovable characters, the music of Golden Sun is what makes it truly outstanding. Recently I came across a great YouTube video of a “Vale” remix, and the description was so perfect I had to post it here:

“The game is amazing enough on its own, but the soundtrack masterfully manages to weave the unique tale of Golden Sun in our minds without visual crutch, but beautiful melodies alone. When the synth kicks in, I can’t help but see Vale in all its magical and archaic splendor, its golden straw rooftops reflecting the sun’s brilliant rays.

I’m not aware of many, if any songs in the compendium of musical composition that captures the essence of such serenity and arcadia so perfectly. Sakuraba is, no holds barred, my favorite composer of all time.” –xRisingForcex

I honestly could not agree more. Songs like Aqua Rock, which aurally project the sense of water into our minds with such mystery and power, to songs like The Elemental Stars, which bespeak the magnificence of the cosmos in a simple melody, bring a kind of second sense to our experience of this series.

The Myth of Laerad would have this experience. In an ideal scenario, Sakuraba would fully orchestrate for it, along with a little collaboration with Joe Hisaishi. This is what I want for Golden Sun 3.

Here is a link to xRisingForcex‘s YouTube page, as well as the video I spoke of.

1 Comment

  1. November 3, 2009 at 1:01 am

    […] splendor, its golden straw rooftops reflecting the sun’s brilliant rays.” – xRisingForcex I once wrote in response to this excellent quote that “I honestly could not agree more. Songs like Aqua […]


Leave a comment